BPFL Gameweek 28: Too Clever By Half, and League Cup Reaches Quarterfinals

We are barreling down the stretch of the first BP fantasy season. Co-Commissioner Our Man at the Valley is here with this week’s BPFL wrapup, which spotlights a backfired strategy saved by good luck, Herk City’s romp, and the League Cup third round:

I thought I was being clever by making my transfers early in the week.

I had two transfers and 2.0 million saved up and wanted to bring in a couple of Liverpool players who had two games scheduled for the Gameweek.  As bad luck would have it, two of my players, Stephan Sessegnon and Nathan Dyer, were starting three-game suspensions for red cards earned in the previous Gameweek.

I decided to make the transfers early in the Gameweek, before either of my two players suffered a hit in transfer price. That part of the equation worked pretty well:  I contemplated bringing in Charlie Adam and Jay Spearing and while I would have liked Adam I didn’t want Spearing (Steven Gerrard was too expensive) but wanted more attacking players so I picked up Stewart Downing and Jordan Henderson and was left with nothing in the bank.

Sessegnon subsequently dropped in price and I was feeling pretty good about myself since I wouldn’t have been able to make the dual transfer had I waited a few more days.

Then Vincent Kompany got hurt in Man City’s midweek Europa League match.  He’s been part of three straight clean sheets and has been a rock in my defense.  Then Joleon Lescott got hurt and suddenly I was short on defenders. A Liverpool defender such as Jose Enrique or Martin Skrtel would have fit in nicely alongside Downing. Oh well!!

As it played out, Downing sat on the bench for most of Liverpool’s first game and I ended the weekend trailing by 18 points to DHD, a guy who I have it on good authority owns a purple velvet bathrobe, once failed to recognize Steve Nash playing alongside him in a pickup soccer game, and who hasn’t made a transfer all season [All three points verified by the BP fact-checking dept.—Ed.].

Robin Van Persie helped me cut the gap to 10 points, with only Liverpool v Everton remaining. With Henderson and Downing (as my captain) up against only Tim Howard I had a good chance to catch up and prove my transfer theory correct. One Stewart Downing goal would have been enough. The cross he laid on Martin Kelly’s foot would have been enough for a tie. As it was, I lost.

At least until I looked at the site on Wednesday morning.

Turns out that Frazier Campbell and his five points remained on my opponent’s bench despite the numerous injuries in DHD’s squad—since the rules stipulate that you must have a minimum of three defenders in your lineup, even if they don’t actually play.

So, to paraphrase Lefty Gomez said, it’s better to be lucky than good.

League Cup Third Round Results

In the most interesting of the 3rd round ties, Afrikan Letsatsi saw his two-point victory turn into a six-point loss to minnow Useful Shot, That after being penalized eight points for making two substitutions more than were allowed.  One of the players removed was Victor Moses of Wigan who had his best game of the season.

Additionally, there was a win for fellow minnows Tranungkite, also mired around 30th place in the BFL.

Tranungkite 47-44 Gunters

Herk City 78-35 tango

socr_maniac 59-44 Ahmad Haziq Hashim

El nino 54-58 Dynasty of FC Hammer

Mudheads 49-26 I Am Liverpool

thissiteblows@P.Mike 46-34 YourAdHere

Afrikan Letsatsi 48-54 Useful Shot, That

Lildweaver 49-52 Bryan 04 Leverkusen

League Cup Quarterfinal Draw

The headline match of the quarterfinals sees third-place Herk City meet second-place Dynasty of FC Hammer.

Mudheads v. Bryan 04 Leverkusen

Herk City v. Dynasty of FC Hammer

Tranungkite v. Socr_maniac

ThissiteblowsatPMike v. Useful Shot, That

Performer of the Week

Herk City, led by the lethal front line of Luis Suarez, Robin van Persie and Wayne Rooney, ran away with the gong this week, racking up 82 points.

Unlucky Loser

Sunshine FC pulled down 55 points were much closer to the Average score than most winners of this prestigious weekly award. I don’t know what to make of that.

Top of the Table.

Business as usual as there were wins for the top 3 (Coloradokeeper, Dynasty of FC Hammer and Herk City).  Also of note was a rare win for bottom club ChaiceBrosMakeAllLeague, his fifth of a disappointing campaign.

Thanks OMATV. Gameweek 29 starts on Saturday and runs to next Wednesday the 21st. Don’t forget to set your lineups.

Leave a Reply

