BPFL Week 9 Wrap: Hammer Pounded, Numpties Remain Disgruntled

The English Premier League’s Week 10 finished up today, which means we better get our BPFL Week 9 wrap-up posted.

Without further ado, here is co-commissioner MGlo:

It was another good weekend for this guy [points thumbs at self] as once again my Old27m squad took three points, this time at the expense of the reigning Champions Rise* of FC Hammer.

The top-of-the-table clash was very close after Saturday’s matches with my side holding a 3-point edge (31-28). I went into the Sunday games with my Captain Demba Ba along with RVP and Newcastle defender Mike Williamson. My esteemed opponent had Leighton Baines, Hatem Ben Arfa, Eden Hazard, and William Gallas. An interesting matchup, for sure.

Alas, it was not to be as his four combined for a measly 14 points, while my boys added 30 to my total for a 61-42 win. The victory leaves me 6 points clear at the top and hands second-place Hammer their second straight defeat and third in four games.

Moving into the third spot, 2 points further back is the team that handed me my only defeat (and constantly reminds me of it!), I Am Liverpool. The bane of my existence has won three in a row but faces fourth-place Disgruntled Numpties this week. The Numpties were on the way to victory last week, only to be beaten at the Nearpost when the powers that be decided that Arsenal’s Aaron Ramsey should be credited with an assist (earning him a Bonus Point as well) and what was a 58-57 win turned into a 61-58 defeat. The Numpties are level on points with fifth-place Colorado Keeper, who has been awfully quiet this season, and Abes Army, who probably has no idea he has reached such dizzying heights.

Performance of The Week: It pains me to say this but I Am Liverpool just nipped me (and Nearpost) for this honor with a 63-point haul. Captain RVP pulled down 24 points, while assists from both Eden Hazard and Marouane Fellaini added another 10. Gael Clichy had an assist and a clean sheet while Ryan Shawcross had 3 Bonus Points and a clean sheet.

Unlucky Loser: The Numpties have yet another grievance to feed their disgruntlement, as their 58 points were better than nine other clubs but not enough to top their opponent.

Thanks, commish. Look for Our Man at the Valley’s Week 10 recap later this week.

Leave a Reply

