Counterpoint: Moreno Goal Perfectly Fine, Says Paul Gardner

Refereeing posts are sexy.

Yesterday, we had a keeper weigh in in the comments to our  post on Jaime Moreno‘s controversial goal against Philadelphia, and the netminder, somewhat surprisingly, totally sided with Moreno.

Today, Soccer America columnist Paul Gardner seconds the motion. He disagrees with U.S. refereeing honcho Paul Tamberino‘s opinion that the goal should not have counted, and points out that Tamberino made a key omission while citing Rule 12 of the game.

It’s an interesting read—you can find it right here—and Gardner concludes with much the same reasoning as our commenters, namely, that Union keeper Chris Seitz botched this one beyond belief.

Advertisements